bulgaria properties
Home arrow News & Press Releases arrow Latest arrow Councilmember Wells Congratulates Winning Schools in District's New "Safe Routes to School" Program
Councilmember Wells Congratulates Winning Schools in District's New "Safe Routes to School" Program PDF Print E-mail
Written by Neha Bhatt   
Tuesday, 19 August 2008

(Washington, D.C.) – Councilmember Wells congratulates the winning schools in the new DC Safe Routes to School program.  Thirteen schools have been selected from across all eight wards to receive focused evaluation and infrastructure improvements to make walking and biking to school safer and more convenient for children.  The District received $5 million in federal funds to improve walking and biking routes to schools. 

“This is an exciting program,” Wells stated.  “Children should have a real choice to safely walk or bike to school.  We have been pursuing these kinds of choices for everyone in the District, but our youngest residents require special attention, which this program will provide.  We want our kids to be safe, active, and healthy and that is what the Safe Routes program is all about.  We are starting with the 13 schools in this pilot, but we should expand to all schools in the future.” 

The Safe Routes to School Network, chaired by Councilmember Wells, guides and supports the work of the DC Safe Routes to School program.  The Network selected the winning schools based on criteria such as current level of walking and biking safety, economic need, number of students potentially affected, and level of community collaboration and support.  The Network is composed of experts from DDOT, DCPS, DOH, OP, MPD, PTA, PCS Board, WABA, Coalition for Smarter Growth, ASPIRA and other specialists.

Each winning school will form a safe routes team composed of parents, teachers, principals, health and safety specialists and community members.  The teams will develop and implement a safe routes plan which will include diverse elements such as bicycle and pedestrian safety training for students; infrastructure improvements (such as signs, signals, crosswalks, sidewalks, and traffic calming measures); enhanced MPD enforcement of traffic rules; and education and outreach activities targeted toward students and families.  The winning schools are:

Bancroft Elementary DCPS
E.L. Haynes Public Charter School
Montgomery Elementary DCPS
John Eaton Elementary DCPS
Ben Murch Elementary DCPS
Oyster/Adams Bilingual DCPS
J.G. Whittier Elementary DCPS
DC Preparatory Academy Public Charter School
Amidon Elementary DCPS
Capitol Hill Cluster DCPS
Two Rivers Public Charter School
KIPP DC-Benning Road Public Charter School
Patterson Elementary DCPS

For more information visit:  http://www.saferoutespartnership.org/state/4373/dc  or http://ddot.dc.gov/saferoutes


< Prev   Next >